Latest News:

    Trustee Resolution on Carolina North

News Releases:

Carrboro Fire Station Lease

Unsung Founders Memorial

Sustainability Report 2005


UNC Grounds Award


Horace Williams Airport
Safety Improvements


Community Service Awards

  Chancellor's Columns:
    Chapel Hill Herald, April 2006
    Archived Columns
Spacer Guest Columns:
    Jablonski Column, Oct 2005
    Kang Column, Aug 2005
Spacer Campus Planning
and Development:
    Development Plan
Modification #3
    Spacer Concept Plan Submitted
  Spacer Campus Planning
    Spacer Campus Master Plan Update
    Spacer Campus Master Plan 2001
    Spacer Cogeneration Plant SUP


Elfland PowerPoint Nov 2005
    Spacer Efland Presentation Nov 2005
    Spacer Crawford-Brown Presentation
    Spacer UNC  Response Nov 2005
    Spacer Felgenhauer PowerPoint
Nov 2005
    Spacer Carolina Weekly Coverage
    Spacer Crawford-Brown Report
    Spacer EPA Presentation
    Spacer Carolina North
    Spacer Facilities Planning and Construction
    Spacer Sustainability at UNC
Spacer Service to the Community:
  Spacer Carolina Center for Public Services: Orange County
  Spacer Blanchard Column, Dec 2005
Spacer Things to do:
  Spacer Performing Arts
2006-2007 Season
Spacer Useful Links:

Campus Maps


Visitor Parking


Chapel Hill Transit

Spacer Archives:
  Spacer Campus Zoning:
OI-4 Text Changes

Waste Disposal Area



December 28, 2005
Chancellor Announces Broun's LeADErship Role


Kevin Foy, Mayor
Town of Chapel Hill
405 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard
Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Mark Chilton, Mayor
Town of Carrboro
301 West Main Street
Carrboro, NC 27510

Barry Jacobs, Chair
Orange County Commissioners
2105 Moorefields Road
Hillsborough, NC 27278

Dear Mayors Foy and Chilton and Chair Jacobs:
I am pleased to tell you that Kenneth S. Broun, a long-time member of this community, a former Chapel Hill mayor and distinguished faculty member and former dean of the Law School, has agreed to serve as chair of a leadership advisory committee that will seek broad community input on planning for Carolina North.

Some months ago, we began to envision a collaborative process in which the University and local communities could engage productively to advance our vision for Carolina North and, at the same time, respect the goals and values of the local communities.  We sketched out a potential process, and it immediately became clear that the leader of the process would have to be – first and foremost – a member of this community.  Someone who is respected.  Someone who can get all the parties around the table talking constructively.  And someone who can build consensus among stakeholder groups.  It soon became clear that Ken Broun was that person.

The process we are considering would be guided by the leadership advisory committee.  This committee would review major issues concerning Carolina North to develop principles that reflect our commitment to sustainability.  These principles would then be used by the university to develop a master plan for Carolina North. 

The advisory committee would address issues such as fiscal equity, housing, transportation and zoning.  In addition, the advisory committee may elect to form sub-committees to deal with such specific issues.

The process would include broad representation from the university, the local communities and the state, and all meetings would be open to the public.  The Chapel Hill Horace Williams Citizens’ Committee and the Carrboro Horace Williams Advisory Committee have done good work, and we would ask the advisory committee to consider their recommendations and build upon them.  The committee would also consider engaging a facilitator to ensure that the process is open, inclusive, comprehensive and meaningful. 

We welcome your suggestions as we work with Ken Broun to detail this process.  To that end, Ken has asked me to let you know that he will be calling to arrange a time to discuss the overall approach with you and get your input.

James Moeser

cc:        Carrboro Aldermen
            Chapel Hill Town Council
            Orange County Commissioners
            Board of Trustees Chair Nelson Schwab
            Ken Broun


Contact Us

UNC Home