Latest News:

    UNC, town first town-gown
to pledge carbon reduction plan
    Development Plan Modification Submitted to Town

News Releases:

    Botanical Garden Visitor Education Center

Carrboro Fire Station Lease

Unsung Founders Memorial

Sustainability Report 2005


UNC Grounds Award


Horace Williams Airport
Safety Improvements


Community Service Awards

  Chancellor's Columns:
    Chapel Hill Herald,
April 2006
    Archived Columns
Spacer Guest Columns:
    Jablonski Column, Oct 2005
    Kang Column, Aug 2005
Spacer Campus Planning
and Development:
    Development Plan
Modification #3
    Spacer Concept Plan Submitted
  Spacer Campus Planning
    Spacer Campus Master Plan Update
    Spacer Campus Master Plan 2001
    Spacer Cogeneration Plant SUP


Elfland PowerPoint Nov 2005
    Spacer Efland Presentation Nov 2005
    Spacer Crawford-Brown Presentation
    Spacer UNC  Response Nov 2005
    Spacer Felgenhauer PowerPoint
Nov 2005
    Spacer Carolina Weekly Coverage
    Spacer Crawford-Brown Report
    Spacer EPA Presentation
    Spacer Carolina North
    Spacer Facilities Planning and Construction
    Spacer Sustainability at UNC
Spacer Service to the Community:
  Spacer Carolina Center for Public Services: Orange County
  Spacer Blanchard Column,
Dec 2005
Spacer Things to do:
  Spacer Performing Arts
2006-2007 Season
Spacer Useful Links:

Campus Maps


Visitor Parking


Chapel Hill Transit

Spacer Archives:
  Spacer Campus Zoning:
OI-4 Text Changes

Waste Disposal Area



October 2005


The Chapel Hill-Carrboro Chamber of Commerce will present the Chapel Hill-Carrboro Community Service Awards to public service officers, Family-Friendly Employers, individuals and community organizations in a gala ceremony to be held today, Thursday, October 6, 2005, at the Sonja Haynes Stone Center on UNC Chapel Hill’s campus.

“The community’s capacity for caring and time-honored tradition of volunteerism is evident in Chapel Hill and Carrboro,” said Aaron Nelson, executive director of the Chapel Hill-Carrboro Chamber of Commerce. “Working together as a community we can make a difference, making permanent changes and improvements as we strive to build a sustainable community.”

The Chamber will present six awards for community service. Honorees are Linda Convissor, UNC-Chapel Hill, Town and Gown Award; Memorial Hall, Community Enhancement Award; Beth Seyda (individual) and Chapel Hill Service League (organization), Community Enrichment Awards; Marilyn and Tom Alexander, Jim Gibson Volunteers of the Year Award; Ruffin Slater, Citizen of the Year Award; and Irene Briggaman, Lifetime Achievement Award for Service.

The Chamber will honor seven officers with awards as Public Service Officers of the Year. They are:  Orange County EMS - Eric Griffin, Orange County Sheriff - Jasper Clark, Carrboro Police Dept.- Thomas “Tei” Coyle, Carrboro Fire Dept - Gregory  P. Sherman, Chapel Hill Police Dept. - Lt. Jackie Carden, Chapel Hill Fire Dept - Jeff Cabe, UNC Dept of Public Safety - Lori Ann Palazzo.

The Chamber and the Orange County Partnership for Young Children will jointly recognize three Family Friendly Employers of the Year. They are North Carolina High School Athletic Association (small), Vietri, Inc. (midsize), and Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina (large).

Progress Energy is the Platinum Sponsor of the Community Service Awards Ceremony, which honors individual and organizational contributions to the betterment of Chapel Hill, Carrboro and Orange County. 

For more information on the awards ceremony, contact Tracy Hager or Aaron Nelson at 967-7075 or

Contact Us

UNC Home