American Diplomacy
Directors and Staff

American Diplomacy is published on the World Wide Web by American Diplomacy Publishers, a nonprofit corporation chartered in the State of North Carolina and recognized by the Internal Revenue Service as a tax-exempt charity under sec. 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Office location
252 Carolina Meadows Villa
Chapel Hill, NC 27517

Mailing address
P.O. Box 2842
Chapel Hill, NC 27515-2842

(984) 234-3078

Readers may print a copy of our brochure, available at these links:
[pdf jpg]
BACK [pdf jpg]

NOTE: The opinions expressed by the authors published in this Journal are not necessarily those of members of the Journal's staff or the American Diplomacy Board of Directors, nor of the Triangle Institute for Security Studies or the Curriculum for Peace, War & Defense at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.

©All articles and other original materials are property of American Diplomacy Publishers unless otherwise indicated. Registered, ISSN Center, Library of Congress, ISSN No. 1094-8120

Publisher Michael Cotter
Editor Csaba T. Chikes
Contributing Editors Francis P. Sempa
  Margaret C. Pearson
  George Clack
Webmaster Sandra Johnson
Technical Advisor Christopher M. Kuster


Support American Diplomacy RSS Mailing-list Subscription Email American Diplomacy Facebook

Established 1996

Co-Founded by Dr. Henry E. Mattox and Amb. T. Frank Crigler

American Diplomacy Publishers, a not-for-profit organization, publishes American Diplomacy, available free to all internet users. Articles are posted on a rolling basis, so check back frequently to see what's new. Subcriptions are available and include alerts for new items on our site.

Our goal is to publish thoughtful articles on international issues, to support efforts to strengthen the American Foreign Service, and to promote understanding of the challenges of diplomatic life abroad through the memoirs of U.S. Foreign Service personnel and their families. Among our contributors are American diplomats, both active and retired, as well as distinguished academicians.

American Diplomacy Publishers, Inc.


President VP, Outreach Kunsman  
Amb W. Robert Pearson, President John M. Handley, Ph.D., Vice-President & Secretary June Kunsman, Treasurer  


Ansel Brown
Paul Carew, Ph.D.
Csaba T. Chikes
Renate Coleshill
Amb. Michael W. Cotter
Renee M. Earle
John M. Handley, Ph.D.
Amb. William C. Harrop
William P. Kiehl, Ph.D.

June H. Kunsman
Amb. Ed. Marks
Amb. Thomas E. McNamara
Margaret C. Pearson
Amb W. Robert Pearson
Carolyn W. Pumphrey, Ph.D.
Amb Brenda Schoonover
Francis Sempa, Esq.

KiehlMarksMcNamaraCarewPumphrey SempaSempa

Members Emeriti

Samuel H. Barnes, Ph.D.
Frank Crigler
Curtis F. Jones
Richard H. Kohn, Ph.D.

Henry Mattox
R. Bartlett Moon
J. Edgar Williams

white starAmerican Diplomacy white star
Copyright © 2016 American Diplomacy Publishers Chapel Hill NC