The College of Arts and Sciences is pleased to announce the Distinguished Term Professors in Research and Undergraduate Education.

The current recipients are:

    • Drew Coleman (Geology) Jaroslav Folda Distinguished Term Associate Professor in Research and Undergraduate Education (2009-2013)
    • Jane Danielewicz (English and Comparative Literature) Richard Grant Hiskey Distinguished Term Associate Professor in Research and Undergraduate Education (2009-2013)
    • Beth Grabowski (Art) Zachary Smith Distinguished Term Professor in Research and Undergraduate Education (2013-2017)
    • Jacqueline Hagan (Sociology) Robert G. Parr Distinguished Term Professor in Research and Undergraduate Education (2013-2017)

The past recipients are:

    • Donald M. Reid (History) Alan Feduccia Distinguished Term Professor in Research and Undergraduate Education (2008-2012)
    • elin o'Hara slavick (Art) Glen H. Elder, Jr. Distinguished Term Professor in Research and Undergraduate Education (2008-2012)

Every four years, new Distinguished Term Professorships in Research and Undergraduate Education (one in each of the four divisions in the College of Arts and Sciences) will be filled. The recipients will receive an annual stipend ($6,000) and a annual project fund of $5,000. These Professorships will recognize tenured faculty who are making outstanding contributions to undergraduate education. They will also help to foster a culture of undergraduate research on our campus, and support and expand undergraduate research opportunities in all disciplines. The project fund can be used to modify existing courses to add a research component, create one or more new courses to teach research methodologies, travel with undergraduate students to professional meetings, or collaborate with others to increase the number of mentors for undergraduate research projects, as well as defraying other expenses associated with expanding undergraduate research opportunities. The recipients will teach a normal load, but if they create and teach new courses, the home department will be compensated to enable the regular course offerings to continue. The recipients will discuss their projects at an annual banquet sponsored by the Office for Undergraduate Research, and, on occasion, with members of the University administration and Board of Trustees.

The selection criteria include an outstanding record of research, scholarship or creative performance, and teaching, an outstanding record of and interest in mentoring undergraduate research scholarship or creative performance, and evidence of commitment to expanding undergraduate participation in original inquiry both inside and outside the classroom.

Nominations for the next appointments (to be selected in 2011-2012) should include:

  1. The nominee’s current curriculum vitae
  2. A detailed explanation of the value and ongoing importance of the nominee’s mentoring of undergraduate research, scholarship and/or creative performance to her or his department, the university and profession. The nomination should be written in such a way as to be comprehensible to members of an interdisciplinary faculty review committee that may not include specialists in the nominee’s field
  3. The names, addresses, email addresses, and telephone numbers of three referees who are in a position to evaluate the nominee’s qualifications for their distinguished Term Chair and who have expressed a willingness to write on the nominee’s behalf. These referees may include colleagues from both UNC-Chapel Hill and other institutions. Official requests for letter from these referees will come from the chair of the college’s faculty review committee.

A faculty review committee will examine the nominations. The committee may request additional information from those candidates for whom reference letters are requested. After a full review, the committee will make recommendations to the Dean, who will announce the appointments.

Instructions for submitting nominations for the next appointments will be posted here when they are available.

Press: New professorships help undergraduate research grow