Administrative Board of the Library

Charge and Composition:
(Excerpt from the Faculty Code of University Government.)

13-1. Administrative Board of the Library; composition. (a) There shall be an Administrative Board of the Library
composed of twenty-two members. Fourteen members shall be elected by and from the following electoral divisions:

        1.The Division of Fine Arts of the College of Arts and Sciences—one member.
        2.The Division of the Humanities of the College of Arts and Sciences—three members.
        3.The Division of the Basic and Applied Natural Sciences of the College of Arts and Sciences and the Institute
          of Marine Sciences—three members.
        4.The Division of the Social Sciences of the College of Arts and Sciences—three members.
        5.The School of Journalism and Mass Communication, the Kenan-Flagler Business School, the School of
          Education, the School of Law, the School of Information and Library Science, the School of Social Work,
          and the School of Government—three members.
        6.The Academic Affairs Libraries—one member.

(b) The chair of the faculty shall appoint six members of the Administrative Board of the Library, as follows: member from the Division of Health Affairs.
        2.two members from the faculty at large. undergraduate student, on recommendation of the president of the student body.
        4.two graduate students, on recommendation of the president of the Graduate and Professional Student

(c) The University librarian and the dean of the Graduate School shall be members ex officio.

13-2. Administrative Board of the Library; election and terms of members; meetings. Elected members of the
board shall be nominated and elected by the process employed for the Faculty Council. It is preferable that no more than
one elected member be from any single school or department. Student members of the board shall serve one-year terms.
All other appointed and elected members shall serve three-year terms. No elected or appointed member shall serve more
than two consecutive terms. The three members elected in 2002 representing professional schools in the Division of
Academic Affairs will be allotted three-year, two-year, and one-year terms in the order of the number of votes received.

The board shall elect a chair from among its members annually. The board shall meet at least six times each year upon the
call of the chair or of the University librarian.

13-3. Administrative Board of the Library; duties. Subject to the power of the General Faculty and the Faculty Council, the Administrative Board shall:

(Other appointments are pending.)
Name Constituency & Department
Term Expires
Larry Benninger Natural Sciences (Geological Sciences) 2005
Stephen S. Birdsall Social Sciences/Professional Schools (Geography) 2004
Mark Evan Bonds Fine Arts (Music) 2004
Dino S. Cervigni Humanities (Romance Languages) 2005
A. MacKay Coble Fine Arts (Dramatic Art) 2003
Michael L. Corrado Professional Schools (School of Law) 2004
Patricia A. Curtin Professional Schools (School of Journalism) 2005
Robert S. Dalton Academic Affairs Libraries 2004
Linda Dykstra (ex officio) Graduate School Dean ---
Donald Haggis Humanities/Journalism (Classics) 2005
John E. Hammond Health Affairs (School of Medicine) 2004
Joseph Hewitt (ex officio) University Librarian ---
Beth C. Holmgren Humanites/Journalism (Slavic Languages/ Literatures) 2003
Diane M. Juffras Professional Schools (School of Government) 2005
Charles Kurzman Social Sciences (Sociology) 2005
Theodore H. Leinbaugh Humanities/Journalism (English) 2004
James Stephen Marron Natural Sciences (Statistics) 2004
Robert Peet Natural Sciences (Biology) 2005
Karl E. Petersen Natural Sciences (Mathematics) 2003
Richard W. Pfaff (Chair) Social Sciences/Professional Schools (History) 2003
Robert Shelton (ex officio) Office of the Provost ---