PLEASE NOTE: You are viewing an archival version of our site. The new version can be found at Please update your bookmarks. We will maintain this site until all archival material has been transitioned to the new site.

Call for Nominations: 2012 Honorary Degrees

December 21, 2010

To the General Faculty

Dear Colleagues:

The Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards invites your nominations for honorary degrees to be awarded at Commencement 2012. A maximum of five awards is authorized (six if the Commencement speaker is included). Those so honored are nominated by the committee, recommended by the Faculty Council, and approved by the Board of Trustees. Awards are not conferred in absentia or posthumously.

We seek to honor people who have rendered outstanding service to humanity in the world arena, in our nation, in the American South, or our State of North Carolina; people who have made outstanding contributions to knowledge in the world of scholarship; people whose talent and creativity in the world of the arts has enriched our lives; and people whose devotion to and support of our University merits our highest recognition. Members of the Board of Governors or staff of The University of North Carolina or any of its constituent institutions are not eligible. These persons become eligible two years after termination of such status.

A roster of past recipients is posted on the Faculty Governance website.

Please include appropriate biographical information and a statement in support of your nominee. Nominators often seek supporting letters from others, but the content of such letters, not their number, is what counts. Nominations must be received in the Office of Faculty Governance no later than Friday, January 21, 2011. Emailed nominations are encouraged and may be sent to Anne Whisnant at

Members of the faculty Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards are Professors Bland Simpson (Chair), Alice Ammerman, Robert Anthony, Kathie Harris, Lloyd Kramer, Gene Nichol, and Joseph Ferrell (ex officio). Please contact Anne Whisnant, me, or any other member of the committee if you have questions about eligibility or process.

Sincerely yours,

Joseph S. Ferrell
Secretary of the Faculty