PLEASE NOTE: You are viewing an archival version of our site. The new version can be found at Please update your bookmarks. We will maintain this site until all archival material has been transitioned to the new site.

Call for Nominations: 2011 Thomas Jefferson Award

March 4, 2011

To the General Faculty

Dear Colleagues:

On behalf of the faculty Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards, I invite your nominations for the 2011 Thomas Jefferson Award.

The Thomas Jefferson Award was established in 1961 by the Robert Earll McConnell Foundation. It is presented annually to “that member of the academic community who through personal influence and performance of duty in teaching, writing, and scholarship has best exemplified the ideals and objectives of Thomas Jefferson.”

Any active member of the faculty is eligible, including those who are participating in the phased-retirement program. A roster of former recipients is here. This year's award will be presented at the September meeting of the General Faculty and Faculty Council.

Please include appropriate biographical information and a statement in support of your nominee. Nominators often seek supporting letters from others, but the content of such letters, not their number, is what counts. Nominations must be received in the Office of Faculty Governance no later than Thursday, March 31, 2011. Emailed nominations are encouraged and may be sent to Anne Whisnant at

Members of the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards are Professors Bland Simpson (Chair), Alice Ammerman, Robert Anthony, Kathie Harris, Lloyd Kramer, Gene Nichol, and Joseph Ferrell (ex officio). Please contact Anne Whisnant, me, or any other member of the committee if you have questions about eligibility or process.

Sincerely yours,

Joseph S. Ferrell
Secretary of the Faculty
CB# 9170