PLEASE NOTE: You are viewing an archival version of our site. The new version can be found at Please update your bookmarks. We will maintain this site until all archival material has been transitioned to the new site.

Roster of Recipients of the Thomas Jefferson Award

The Thomas Jefferson Award was established in 1961 by the Robert Earll McConnell Foundation. It is pressented annually to "that member of the academic community who through personal influence and performance of duty in teaching, writing, and scholarship has best exemplified the ideals and objectives of Thomas Jefferson."

Any active member of the faculty is eligible, including those who are participating in the phased-retirement program. Nominations, together with supporting statements, should be submitted to the Secretary of the Faculty in late February. The award is presented in April at the Faculty Council meeting.

The Thomas Jefferson Award is presented by the Chancellor on recommendation of the faculty’s Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards. Nominations may be submitted by any member of the faculty.

1962 Maurice T. Van Hecke
1963 Rupert B. Vance
1964 Henry P. Brandis, Jr.
1965 Fletcher M. Green
1966 William L. Wiley
1967 William B. Aycock
1968 Dougald MacMillan
1969 Charles B. Robson
1970 Frederic N. Cleveland
1971 E. Maynard Adams
1972 Eugen Merzbacher
1973 Daniel A. Okun
1974 Daniel T. Young
1975 C. Hugh Holman
1976 Joseph C. Sloane
1977 J. Dickson Phillips
1978 Walter S. Spearman
1979 Lyle V. Jones
1980 William F. Little
1981 Richard H. Fogle
1982 Daniel H. Pollitt
1983 George A. Kennedy
1983 Cecil G. Sheps
1984 Janet J. Fischer
1984 Newton D. Fischer
1985 John Charles Morrow III
1986 Frederick P. Brooks, Jr.
1987 Richard J. Richardson
1988 John L. Sanders
1989 William B. Blythe
1990 Mary Ellen Jones
1991 Ernest Eliel
1992 Frank Wilson, Jr.
1993 [No award]
1994 Harry Gooder
1995 James L. Peacock III
1996 Raymond Dawson
1997 Donald Jicha
1998 Stuart Bondurant
1999 Doris Waugh Betts
2000 Lawrence I. Gilbert
2000 Beverly Long
2001 Royce W. Murray
2002 Charles S. Stone Jr.
2002 Ruel W. Tyson Jr
2003 Joseph S. Ferrell
2004 Charles E. Daye
2005 Madeline G. Levine
2006 Michael A. Stegman
2007 Stephen Fredrick Weiss
2008 H. Shelton Earp
2009 George Lensing, Jr.

John Parkhill "Jack" Evans