PLEASE NOTE: You are viewing an archival version of our site. The new version can be found at Please update your bookmarks. We will maintain this site until all archival material has been transitioned to the new site.

Coble, Kalleberg are candidates for Chair of the Faculty

CHAPEL HILL, NC (February 18, 2009) – Two faculty members who have both taught at UNC since 1986 have agreed to run this year for the position of Chair of the Faculty. 

McKay Coble, Professor of Design and Chair of the Department of Dramatic Art, and Arne Kalleberg, Kenan Distinguished Professor of Sociology, will be on the ballot during the annual faculty elections, which will be conducted by electronic survey during the week of April 13 through 20.  The winner will succeed current faculty chair Joseph Templeton, who will step down June 30. 

As the resident scenic and costume designer for the PlayMakers Repertory Company, Coble has created sets and costumes for many plays including The Little Prince, The Glass Menagerie/Well, Amadeus, Pericles, and Cyrano.  She currently co-chairs the Dance at Carolina Task Force and serves as a Trustee of Chapel Hill’s Paul Green Foundation.

Coble was an Academic Leadership Fellow in the Class of 2006 at the Institute for the Arts and Humanities and has held a number of leadership positions both in her department and at the university level.  She is presently a member of the College of Arts and Sciences Fixed Term Faculty Committee and the Advisory Board for the Program in Humanities and Human Values.  She served the College of Arts and Sciences as a member of its Administrative Board from 2002-05 and as chair of its Division of Fine Arts from 2003-06.  Coble earned both her Bachelor of Arts and her Master of Fine Arts at UNC.

Kalleberg’s writings have focused on the sociology of work, organizations, occupations and industries, labor markets, and social stratification.  His most recent books are The Mismatched Worker (W.W. Norton, 2007) and Ending Poverty in America: How to Restore the American Dream (co-edited with John Edwards and Marion Crain, New Press, 2007).  He was the 2007-08 President of the American Sociological Association.

Kallberg chaired the Sociology Department from 1990 to 2000 before serving as Senior Associate Dean in the Graduate School and Senior Associate Dean for Social Sciences and International Programs in the College of Arts and Sciences.  He has held numerous elective leadership positions on campus, including member of the College of Arts and Sciences Council of Chairs, member of the Faculty Council, member of the Faculty Executive Committee, and member of the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee, which he chaired in 2005-06.  He has also chaired both the Established Lectures Committee (1995-97) and the Faculty Research Committee (1997-99).  Kalleberg received his his B.A. from Brooklyn College and his M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin at Madison.

The office of Chair of the Faculty is established by Article 3 of the Faculty Code of University Government.  Since 1950, this document has codified the faculty’s expectations about the powers and privileges it exercises in university decision-making processes.  The Chair of the Faculty serves as the key spokesperson for faculty interests and holds office for a non-renewable term of three years.  Candidates are nominated by the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee, an elected standing committee of the faculty. 

For more information about faculty governance at UNC, including details about eligibility to vote in the faculty elections, contact the Office of Faculty Governance at 919-962-1671 or on the web at  A complete sample faculty elections ballot will be available online and in the University Gazette on April 1.