Resolution 2006-1. Amending the Faculty Code of University Government as it Relates to the Membership of the University Committee on Copyright.


The General Faculty Resolves:


Section 1. Section 4-25 of the Faculty Code of University Government is amended to read as follows:

4-25. University Committee on Copyright. (a) The University Committee on Copyright is appointed by the chancellor. It consists of (i) faculty members, (ii) one or more graduate students, serving one-year renewable terms, and (iii) members from campus units, such as the campus libraries and the Office of Technology Development, that are involved in intellectual property matters.  The Director of the University of North Carolina Press, or the Director's designee, is an ex officio member. Faculty members constitute a majority of the members of the committee.

(b) The committee represents to the chancellor and the University community the concerns of faculty and other users and creators of scholarly information. The committee's functions include:

1)      monitoring trends in such areas as institutional or consortial copyright use policies, changes in copyright ownership models, and guidelines for fair use of information in all formats;

2)      identifying areas in which policy development is needed and recommending to the chancellor new or revised institutional policies and guidelines;

3)      cooperating with the administration to propose and monitor the application of University policies and guidelines regarding ownership and use of copyrighted or licensed scholarly works; and

4)      assisting in identifying educational needs of the faculty and others related to compliance with copyright policies and guidelines, and advising on appropriate ways to address those needs.

Section 2. This Resolution shall become effective upon adoption.