210 Pittsboro Street
Campus Box 6210
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-6210

T 919-962-2091
F 919-962-2279

News Briefs

For immediate use

Oct. 10, 2006 -- No. 476


UNC professor elected to Institute of Medicine

Dr. David A. Grimes, a faculty member in the UNC School of Medicine, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine, considered one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health.

Grimes is a clinical professor of obstetrics and gynecology and a fellow at UNC's Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research. He is also vice president of biomedical affairs at Family Health International in Research Triangle Park. Grimes' research interests include intrauterine devices (IUDs), emergency contraception, Cochrane reviews in family planning and research methods. He is one of a small number of physicians nationwide who is board-certified in both obstetrics and gynecology and preventive medicine.

Grimes is one of 65 new members announced by the Institute of Medicine this week. UNC-Chapel Hill has 19 active Institute members, including Grimes. New members are selected from candidates nominated for their professional achievement and commitment to service.


Book by UNC poetry professor receives
Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award

"Shinemaster," a book of poems by UNC creative writing professor Michael McFee, recently received the Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award.

Given annually by the Western North Carolina Historical Association since 1954, the award honors writers from western North Carolina or outstanding works about the region. It is funded by Dr. and Mrs. E. Frank Edwinn of Asheville.

McFee, an Asheville native, has been a professor of English and creative writing at UNC since 1995 and is acting director of the creative writing program. He teaches classes in creative writing, poetry and contemporary North Carolina literature. His teaching awards include a Student Undergraduate Teaching Award (2004); a Phillip and Ruth Hettleman Prize for Artistic and Scholarly Achievement by Young Faculty (1999); and a James M. Johnston Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching (1998). McFee was a UNC Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished Professor from 200 to 2005, an honor that recognizes excellence in undergraduate teaching.

McFee also won the Roanoke-Chowan Award for Poetry (2001), which is given by the North Carolina Literary and Historical Association. He is the author of seven poetry collections. His first book of prose, "The Napkin Manuscripts: Selected Essays and an Interview," was published this fall by the University of Tennessee Press.


Triple Tony Award-winner Saks
to receive award at 19th annual ball

Triple Tony Award-winning director and actor Gene Saks will receive the PlayMaker Award for Lifetime Achievement at the 19th annual PlayMakers Ball Nov. 4 at UNC.

A limited number of tickets are still available for the ball, whose theme will be "Great Journeys." The event will feature Peter Duchin and his orchestra and a gourmet meal created by Chef Brian Stapleton of the Carolina Inn. For tickets, call (919) 843-9666 or e-mail

Saks is directing PlayMakers Repertory Co. in "The Underpants," being performed through Oct. 29. For more information about the play and Saks, visit

Previous award winners include actors Jack Palance, Eva Marie Saint, Faye Dunaway and the late Hume Cronyn; New York Times critic Frank Rich; costume designer William Ivey Long; and Broadway composer and lyricist Richard Adler.

Designers for the ball include Giorgios Bakatsias, Giorgios Hospitality Group, Durham; Barrie Gibby, barrettdesign events, Burlington; and, from Chapel Hill, Kathy Buck, Purple Puddle; McKay Coble, assisted by the PlayMakers Repertory Company Production Shops; Bitty Holton; J.W. Walton, The Catering Company; and Melanie Woods, MW Design.

- 30 -

Note: Media wishing to cover the PlayMakers Ball should contact Pam O'Connor, (919) 621-1230 or

School of Medicine contact: Tom Hughes, (919) 966-6047 or

News Services contacts: LJ Toler, (919) 962-8589 or; Becky Oskin, (919) 962-8596 or