210 Pittsboro Street
Campus Box 6210
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-6210

T 919-962-2091
F 919-962-2279

People Brief

For immediate use

Oct. 24, 2007

Two UNC professors named AAAS Fellows

Dr. Leslie V. Parise, professor and chair of the department of biochemistry and biophysics, and Dr. Roger Narayan, associate professor of biomedical engineering, were recently named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Both are faculty members of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine.

This year, 471 members were awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications, according to the association.

Parise won the award “for significant contributions to the field of cell biology, particularly to the study of cell-adhesion proteins,” according to AAAS. Her research has helped to understand the basic mechanisms underlying diseases such as heart attack, stroke and sickle cell disease.

Narayan was awarded for “distinguished contributions at the interface of materials engineering and medicine, specifically for increasing collaboration and interaction among medical device manufacturers, biomaterials engineers and clinicians,” the AAAS said.

The new science fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold rosette pin Feb. 16, during the 2008 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston. This year’s AAAS Fellows also will be featured in the journal Science on Oct. 26.

School of Medicine contact: Les Lang, (919) 843-9687 or