carolina.gif (1377 bytes)

210 Pittsboro Street, Campus Box 6210
Chapel Hill, NC  27599-6210
(919) 962-2091   FAX: (919) 962-2279


Not for publication

Aug. 7, 2001 -- No. 362

Carolina’s traveling science laboratory to be part of biology teacher workshop

9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Wednesday (Aug. 8)

Johnson C. Smith University campus, 100 Beatties Ford Road

The Partnership for Minority Advancement in the Biomolecular Sciences, a consortium created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, is sponsoring a biotechnology teacher workshop for Charlotte-Mecklenburg high school biology teachers. The workshop is hosted by Johnson C. Smith University.

Teachers will learn new ways to use science in diagnostics and take part in an experiment that explores the molecular basis of sickle cell anemia aboard Carolina’s 40-foot traveling science laboratory.

Dr. Marilyn Sutton Haywood, associate professor of biology at Johnson C. Smith University, and Dr. Walter "Skip" Bollenbacher, professor of biology at Carolina, will lead the workshop and be available for questions from media concerning the importance of "hands-on" science education in interesting students in careers in science.

They will also be available to discuss growing national concerns about the science teacher shortage, the decline in Americans pursuing graduate degrees in science and the lack of diversity within science professions. Bollenbacher can also address how outreach efforts such as Carolina’s traveling science laboratory can help interest students in science and support teachers’ efforts in the classroom.

Carolina’s 33,000-pound traveling science laboratory, named Destiny, travels throughout North Carolina’s communities, providing opportunities for students (especially in rural and underserved areas) to perform experiments in the most up-to-date research fields. Thousands of North Carolina schoolchildren, educators and interested citizens have seen up-close the wonders of the scientific process in Destiny’s first year on the road.

The Partnership for Minority Advancement in the Biomolecular Sciences includes Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, Johnson C. Smith University, North Carolina A&T State University, North Carolina Central University, Shaw University and the University of North Carolina at Pembroke.

- 30 -

Note: News Services can provide more background upon request.

UNC-Chapel Hill News Services contact: Deb Saine, (919) 962-8415