210 Pittsboro Street
Campus Box 6210
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-6210

T 919-962-2091
F 919-962-2279

Media Advisory

Not for publication

March 31, 2005 -- No. 142

Students, faculty, staff to be recognized
for outstanding public service Friday (April 1)

Friday (April 1), noon
Alumni Hall, the Carolina Club, George Watts Hill Alumni Center
UNC campus

Media representatives are invited to cover the 2005 Public Service Awards ceremony and luncheon presented by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hillís Carolina Center for Public Service.

Every year, the center administers the awards to recognize individual students, faculty, staff, university units and student organizations for extraordinary and exemplary public service. The awards include the Ned Brooks Award for Public Service, the Robert E. Bryan Public Service Award and the Office of the Provost Public Service Award.

Individuals and organizations campuswide are nominated for the honors, and a committee of students, faculty, staff and community representatives selected this yearís seven recipients.

The Carolina Center for Public Service leads the universityís engagement efforts and service to North Carolina and beyond by linking the expertise and energy of faculty, staff and students to the needs of the people.

- 30 -

Carolina Center for Public Service contact: Dr. Lynn Blanchard, (919) 843-7568 or

News Services contact: Deb Saine, (919) 962-8415 or