Academic Calendar 2013-2014

University Registrar calendars can be obtained on the University Registrar’s Web site: registrar.unc.edu. For more information on Maymester, visit summer.unc.edu.

First Summer Session 2013
Second Summer Session 2013
Fall Semester 2013
Spring Semester 2014
First Summer Session 2014
Second Summer Session 2014


Summer Session I (SSI) and Maymester (MM) 2013

Classes begin SSI and MM
Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Last day for late registration MM
Tuesday, May 14

Last day for late registration SSI
Wednesday, May 15

Holiday
Monday May 27

Classes end/exams MM
Thursday, May 30 / Friday, May 31

Classes end SSI
Friday, June 14

Exam days SSI
Monday June 17
Tuesday, June 18


Summer Session II 2013

Classes begin
Thursday, June 20

Last day for late registration
Friday, June 21

Holiday
Thursday, July 4

Classes end
Tuesday, July 23

Exam days
Thursday, July 25
Friday, July 26


Fall Semester 2013

Residence halls open
Saturday, August 17, 2013

New student convocation
Sunday, August 18

Summer reading program
Monday August 19

Classes begin for all students
Tuesday, August 20

Last day for late registration
Monday August 26

HOLIDAY (Labor Day)
Monday September 2

University Day
Saturday, October 12

Fall break begins 5 p.m.
Wednesday, October 16

Classes resume 8 a.m.
Monday October 21

Thanksgiving recess (no classes held)
Wednesday, November 27

University Holiday
Thursday, November 28
Friday, November 29

Classes resume 8 a.m.
Monday December 2

Classes end
Wednesday, December 4

Reading days
Thursday, December 5
Wednesday, December 11

Exam days
Friday, December 6
Saturday, December 7
Monday December 9
Thursday, December 12
Friday, December 13

Fall Commencement
Sunday, December 15

 

The Fall semester includes 43 class periods of 50 minutes each on MWF and 29 class periods of 75 minutes each on TTH for a total of 72 days.

Days of Instruction

15 – Mondays 16 – Tuesdays

15 – Wednesdays 13 – Thursdays

13 – Fridays

MWF – 43 TTH – 29

MWF (2,150 minutes + 180 exam = 2,330) TTH (2,175 minutes + 180 exam = 2,355)

 


Spring Semester 2014

Residence halls open
Sunday, January 5, 2014

Classes begin
Wednesday, January 8

Last day of late registration
Tuesday, January 14

Holiday
Monday January 20

Spring break begins 5 p.m.
Friday, March 7

Classes resume 8 a.m.
Monday March 17

Holiday
Friday, April 18

Classes end
Friday, April 25

Reading days
Wednesday, April 30

Saturday, May 3

Exam days
Monday April 28
Tuesday, April 29
Thursday, May 1
Friday, May 2
Monday May 5
Tuesday, May 6

Spring Commencement
Sunday, May 11

 

The Spring semester includes 43 class periods of 50 minutes each on MWF and 29 class periods of 75 minutes each on TTH for a total of 72 days.

Days of Instruction

14 – Mondays 14 – Tuesdays

15 – Wednesdays 15 – Thursdays

14 – Fridays

MWF – 43 TTH – 29

MWF (2,150 minutes + 180 exam = 2,330) TTH (2,175 minutes + 180 exam = 2,355)

 


Summer Session I (SSI) and Maymester (MM) 2014

Classes begin SSI and MM
Tuesday, May 13

Last day for late registration MM
Tuesday, May 13

Last day for late registration SSI
Wednesday, May 14

Holiday
Monday May 26

Classes end / exams MM
Thursday, May 29 / Friday, May 30

Classes end SSI
Friday, June 13

Reading day SSI
Saturday, June 14

Exam days SSI
Monday, June 16
Tuesday, June 17


Summer Session II 2014

Classes begin
Thursday, June 19

Last day for late registration
Friday, June 20

Holiday
Friday, July 4

Classes end
Tuesday, July 22

Reading day
Wednesday, July 23

Exam days
Thursday, July 24
Friday, July 25