Academic Units

College of Arts and Sciences and the General College
Division of Continuing Education
Academic Schools

Division of Academic Affairs
Division of Health Affairs

Academic Departments and Curricula

Undergraduate courses usually offered in regular sessions of the University are listed in the following section.

This section does not include courses offered by the professional schools of government, law, medicine, and social work. For those courses, refer to bulletins from those schools. Although Summer School offers many courses described here, it publishes a separate bulletin of course offerings.

The requirements for majors and minors are shown in connection with information pertaining to the various schools, departments, and curricula.

The work of the University is arranged and offered on the semester system, the regular session being divided into two approximately equal parts called the fall and spring semesters. Summer School offers two sessions of five weeks each, a three-week Maymester, and other short courses with various beginning and ending dates.

Work is valued and credited toward degrees by semester hours, one such hour usually being awarded for each class meeting per week for a semester. One hour of credit is usually awarded for each three hours of laboratory or field work or work in studio art. In the following lists of courses, the numbers in parentheses after the descriptive titles show the credits allowed in semester hours.

College of Arts and Sciences
and the General College

Karen M. Gil, Ph.D., Dean

Terry Ellen Rhodes, D.M.A., Senior Associate Dean for Fine Arts and Humanities

Kevin Guskiewicz, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Jonathan Hartlyn, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Social Sciences and Global Programs

Tammy McHale, M.B.A., Senior Associate Dean for Finance and Planning

Abigail Panter, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education

The College is divided into four divisions. All departments and curricula are assigned to one of these four divisions. Each division has a representative, who serves on the Arts and Sciences Advisory Committee (ASAC). Members are listed below by division.

Division of Fine Arts

Susan Klebanow, M.M.


Art, Dramatic Art, Music

Division of the Humanities

Robert Babcock, Ph.D.


American Studies, Classics, Communication Studies, English and Comparative Literature, Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Romance Studies, Women's and Gender Studies

Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Michael Crimmins, Ph.D.


Applied Physical Sciences, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Exercise and Sport Science, Geological Sciences, Marine Sciences, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy, Psychology, Statistics and Operations Research


Environment and Ecology

Division of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Kathleen Harris, Ph.D.


Aerospace Studies; African, African American, and Diaspora Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; City and Regional Planning; Economics; Geography; History; Military Science; Naval Science; Political Science; Public Policy; Sociology


Archaeology; Contemporary European Studies; Global Studies; Latin American Studies; Peace, War, and Defense

Division of Continuing Education

Academic Schools

Division of Academic Affairs

Kenan-Flagler Business School

School of Education

School of Information and Library Science

School of Media and Journalism

Summer School

Division of Health Affairs

School of Dentistry

School of Medicine

School of Nursing

Eshelman School of Pharmacy

Gillings School of Global Public Health

Academic Departments and Curricula

Department of Aerospace Studies

Department of African, African American, and Diaspora Studies

Department of American Studies

Department of Anthropology

Department of Applied Physical Sciences


Curriculum in Archaeology

Department of Art

Department of Asian Studies

Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics

Department of Biology

Department of Biomedical Engineering


Department of Cell Biology and Physiology

Department of Chemistry



Department of City and Regional Planning

Department of Classics

Department of Communication

Department of Computer Science

Curriculum in Contemporary European Studies


Department of Dramatic Art


Department of Economics

Department of English and Comparative Literature

Curriculum for the Environment and Ecology

Department of Exercise and Sport Science


Department of Geography

Department of Geological Sciences

Department of Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures

Curriculum in Global Studies




Department of History


Interdisciplinary Studies






Curriculum in Latin American Studies


Department of Linguistics


Department of Marine Sciences

Department of Mathematics

Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Department of Military Science

Department of Music

Department of Naval Science

Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Curriculum in Peace, War, and Defense


Department of Philosophy

Department of Physics and Astronomy


Department of Political Science


Department of Psychology

Department of Public Policy

Department of Religious Studies

Department of Romance Studies


Serbian and Croatian


Department of Sociology


Department of Statistics and Operations Research



Department of Women's and Gender Studies

Yucatec Mayan