Cornelia Lynde Meigs

1885 - 1973

Teacher & Writer


Cornelia Meigs
Cornelia Lynde Meigs was born in Rock Island, Illinois in 1885. She graduated from Pennsylvania's Bryn Mawr College in 1907, then returned to her home in Keokuk, Iowa to teach. She later spent eighteen years at St. Katherine's school in Davenport, Iowa. While she was teaching, she wrote a collection of faerie tales, called The Kingdom of the Winding Road, which was published in 1915. Cornelia Meigs is best known as the author of Invincible Louisa, a biography of Louisa May Alcott. She died in 1973.

Photograph from the DeMoines Register
  • Newbery Medal 1933-1934 for Invincible Louisa
Selected Works
  • Meigs, Cornelia. (1976). Invincible Louisa: the Story of the Author of Little Women. New York: Little, Brown, & Company.
  • Meigs, Cornelia, Elizabeth Nesbitt, Anne Thaxter Eaton, and Ruth Hill Viguers. (1953). A Critical History of Children's Literature. New York: Macmillan.

Back to Home

Last Modified: May 5, 2002