UNC Group on Atmospheric Science & Pollution

UNC-GASP provides a forum for discussing research in air pollution.  We focus on air pollution science, but also consider related topics: climate change, human health effects, air pollution control, environmental management and policy, and industrial hygiene.

We meet weekly during the semester, on Fridays at noon in Hooker 2005.  Most discussions are led by graduate students at UNC, and we sometimes invite outside speakers.

For more information, or to be added to a distribution list and receive weekly announcements, please contact Professor Jason West (jasonwest@unc.edu).

GASP- Fall 2012

Left to right: Meridith Fry, Raquel Silva, Scott Boone, Evan Couzo, Pradeepa Vennam, James McCann, Maiko Arashiro, Doug Becker, Ken Sexton, Jason Surratt, Jason West, Shih Ying Chang, Yuqiang Zhang, Yuzhi Chen, Roger Jerry

Spring 2014 Schedule




Jan. 10



Jan. 17

Eric Whitsel, UNC Epidemiology & Medicine

Estimating Electrocardiographic Effects of Particulate Matter

Jan. 24



Jan. 31


Feb. 7



Feb. 14

NO MEETING Snowed out!

Feb. 21

Jason West, ESE How to write a research paper

Feb. 28

Matthieu Riva, ESE Secondary Organic Aerosol (SOA) formation from the gas-phase oxidation of polyaromatic hydrocarbons

Mar. 7



Mar. 14


Spring Break

Mar. 21

Raquel Silva, ESE The effect of future outdoor air pollution on human health and the contribution of climate change
Mar. 28 Yuqiang Zhang, ESE Studying the co-benefits of GHGs mitigation on US air quality with downscaling techniques

Apr. 4

Maiko Arashiro , ESE

Assessing effects of isoprene-derived secondary organic aerosols on cytotoxicity and inflammation through in vitro exposures

Apr. 11 Xinxin Li , ESE

Investigating the influence of anthropogenic emissions on isoprene-derived SOA in the 2013 Southeast Oxidant & Aerosol Study (SOAS) at Look Rock

Apr. 18

Apr. 25

Yuzhi Chen , ESE

Model assessment of isoprene oxidation chemistry against outdoor chamber experiments

Fall 2013 Schedule

Spring 2013 Schedule

Fall 2012 Schedule

Spring 2012 Schedule

Fall 2011 Schedule

Spring 2011 Schedule

Fall 2010 Schedule

Spring 2010 Schedule

Fall 2009 Schedule

Spring 2009 Schedule

Fall 2008 Schedule

Spring 2008 Schedule

Fall 2007 Schedule

GASP- Fall 2011

Left to right: Joe Pedit, Jason West, Liz Blayney, Will Vizuete, Yadong Xu, Pradeepa Vennam, Wendy Marth, Caitlin Rubitschun, Maiko Arashiro, Sari Budisulistiorini, Colin Cameron, Shih Ying Chang, Raquel Silva, James McCann, Meridith Fry, Ying-Hsuan Lin, Matt Woody, Chris Werner, David Leith, Yuqiang Zhang, Roger Jerry


GASP – Fall 2010 (some members not pictured). 

From left: Will Vizuete, Jason Surratt, Caitlin Pierce, Liz Blayney, Barron Henderson, Adeola Olatosi, Harshal Parikh, Meridith Fry, Evan Couzo, Yadong Xu, Chris Werner, Raquel Silva, A. Chart-Asa, Sri Budisulistiorini, Ya-ru Li, Maryanne Boundy, David Leith, Robert Bush, Jason West, Nicole Hagan

GASP – Fall 2009 (some members not pictured). 

From left: Jeff Rissman, Weruka Rattanavaraha, Ying-Hsuan Lin, Adeola Olatosi, Will Vizuete, Meridith Fry, Jyoti Bapat, Chris Werner, Matt Woody, Barron Henderson, Jenna Kolling, Alex Carll, Jason West, Susan Casper Anenberg, Evan Couzo, Jose Zavala