The Laboratory - Our group has twenty-four investigators, including three research Assistant Professors, nine postdoctoral fellows, ten graduate students (home departments Microbiology-Immunology, IBMS, Genetics, Biochemistry and Neurobiology) and two research technicians.  It is a cordial and highly motivated group of investigators, with divergent interests but lots of scientific and social interactions.  Students who are self-motivated and team players do extremely well in the lab.  Over ninety percent of the students finish in five years or under, and graduate with a substantial publication record.  Our most recent graduates have received postdoctoral offers from Harvard, Stanford, Caltech, Yale, UCSF, Salk Institute, Washington University and Columbia University.  A balance is achieved in the laboratory between close mentoring for new students and the freedom to explore new areas for more mature trainees.  Extra mentoring is provided during critical times such as prelims, student seminars, paper preparation, thesis defense, and job or postdoc hunting.
 

CIITA Molecular Biology and Gene Discovery
Jonathan Harton (postdoc)     jharton@med.unc.edu
Debra Taxman (postdoc)    nellie@med.unc.edu
Xin-Zheng Zhu (postdoc)    zhux@imap.unc.edu
William O'Connor (graduate student)    william_o'connor@med.unc.edu
Eleni Zika (graduate student)    eleni_zika@med.unc.edu
Athena Wong (graduate student)    athena@med.unc.edu
Brian Conti (graduate student)    bconti@med.unc.edu
Susanna Greer (postdoc)    susanna_greer@med.unc.edu
Kristi Williams (postdoc)    klw@med.unc.edu
Chris Moore (postdoc)    cbmoore2@med.unc.edu
Beckley Davis (postdoc)   beckley.davis@bcl.tmc.edu
 

Transplantation and Dendritic Cells
June Brickey (assistant professor)    jbrickey@med.unc.edu
Karen McKinnon (assistant professor)    kmck@med.unc.edu
Hank Van Deventer (assistant professor)    hvand@med.unc.edu
Jing-Hua Zhang (Technician)    jhz2580@yahoo.com
Athena Wong (graduate student)    athena@med.unc.edu
 

Neuroinflammation
Heather Arnett (graduate student)    arnett@unc.edu
Sheila Plant (graduate student)    srplant@med.unc.edu
Ellis Yang (Technician)    yingwang@med.unc.edu
 

Cancer Biology and Proteomics
Jeff MacKeigan (graduate student)    jmack@med.unc.edu
Dan Bergstrahl (graduate student)    dbergstr@med.unc.edu
Debra Taxman (postdoc)    nellie@med.unc.edu
John Lich (postdoc)    john_lich@med.unc.edu
Casey Clements (graduate student)   clements@med.unc.edu
 

Back to Jenny's homepage

Jenny P.-Y. Ting

panyun@med.unc.edu