Housing and Mortgage Lending Data

North Carolina Regions

Most of the charts in this website break North Carolina into sixteen regions rather than more commonly used metropolitan areas.

The February 2013 delineation of metropolitan statistical areas by the Office of Management and Budget moved Brunswick County in the southeast of North Carolina from the Wilmington metropolitan area to the Myrtle Beach metropolitan area across the border in South Carolina. Similarly, Currituck and Gates are considered part of the Virginia Beach metropolitan area. While these may be appropriate when considering interstate economic activity, they make little sense for a website focused on North Carolina. Moreover, a large number of North Carolina counties are not in any metropolitan area as currently defined.

Consequently, this website adopts the regions falling under sixteen regional councils of government. Regional councils have been operating to facilitate inter-governmental cooperation in North Carolina since 1972. The councils assist local governments in administration, regional planning, community and economic development, and other services. For more information, see North Carolina's Association of Regional Councils of Government.