Japanese Historical Eras

Japan is an archipelago off the coast of E. Asia. The capitol is Tokyo which, along with the neighboring Yokohama, creates the world’s most populous metropolitan region. Japan proper has four main islands with are from North to South, Hokkaido, Honshu (largest, most populous and location of the capital and most major cities), Shikoku, and Kyushu. There are also several smaller islands.

Periods of Japanese history are classified by shoguns:

Japanese history is also defined by historical periods:

Early Historical Period

Medieval Period

Early Modern Period




Modern Period:

Last updated: 1/7/2009