Art History

Faculty
FACULTY >

PROFESSORS
EMERITI

ADJUNCT FACULTY
 
 
 
 

Michael Cole, Assistant Professor, Baroque Art, Ph.D., Princeton University, mwcole@email.unc.edu

Jaroslav Folda, N. Ferebee Taylor Professor, Medieval Art, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University. jfolda@email.unc.edu

Pika Ghosh, Assistant Professor, South Asian Art and Architecture, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania.  pghosh@email.unc.edu

Michael Harris, Assistant Professor, African and African-American Art,  M.A. African American Studies, Yale University, M.F.A. Painting Howard University,  Ph.D., Yale University. mharris1@email.unc.edu

Arthur Marks, Professor, American and British Art and Architecture, Ph.D., Courtauld Institute of Art, University of London. amarks@email.unc.edu

Carol Mavor, Associate Professor, Critical Theory and Modern/Post Modern Art, M.F.A., University of California, San Diego, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz

Mary Pardo, Associate Professor, Italian Renaissance Art, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh. mpardo@email.unc.edu

Mary Sheriff, Professor, 18th & 19th Century Art and Critical Theory, Adjunct Professor of Women's Studies, Ph.D., University of Delaware. msheriff@email.unc.edu

Mary Sturgeon, Professor, Department Chair, Ancient and Classical Art, Ph.D., Bryn Mawr College. sturgeon@email.unc.edu

Dorothy Verkerk , Associate Professor, Late Antique, Early Medieval, and Celtic Art, Ph.D., Rutgers University. dverkerk@email.unc.edu
 

Professors Emeriti

Frances Huemer, (Ph.D., New York University, Institute of Fine Arts)

Sara Immerwahr, (Ph.D., Bryn Mawr College)
 

Adjunct Faculty

Gerald D. Bolas (Ph.D., City University of New York), Director, Ackland Museum, gdbolas@email.unc.edu

Lyn Koehnline (M.A., New York University, Institute of Fine Arts), Conservator, Ackland Art Museum, koehnlin@email.unc.edu

Barbara C. Matilsky (Ph.D., New York University, Institute of Fine Arts), Curator of Exhibitions, Ackland Art Museum, matilsky@email.unc.edu

Timothy A. Riggs (Ph.D., Yale University), Assistant Director for Collections, Ackland Art Museum, trcpc@email.unc.edu

Carolyn H. Wood (Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), Educator for University Audiences, Ackland Art Museum, chw4641@email.unc.edu

Rebecca Martin Nagy (Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), Acting Curator of African Art, North Carolina Museum of Art 

Mary Ellen Soles (Ph.D., Yale University), Curator of Ancient Art, North Carolina Museum of Art

David H. Steel, Jr. (Ph.D., Bryn Mawr College), Curator of European Art,  North Carolina Museum of Art

Dennis P. Weller (Ph.D., University of Maryland), Associate Curator of European Art, North Carolina Museum of Art

Sarah Schroth (Ph.D., New York University,Institute of Fine Arts), Associate Curator, Duke Museum of Art