Emergency: System Test

Around Campus

Carolina community members honored with Diversity Awards

Presented by the University Office of Diversity and Inclusion, the awards recognize work in advancing an inclusive climate at Carolina.

Award winners pose for a photo.
The Office of Diversity and Inclusion presented the Diversity Awards on April 18. (Jon Gardiner/UNC-Chapel Hill)

The University Office of Diversity and Inclusion recognized students, faculty, staff, alumni and campus organizations with Diversity Awards on April 18. The awards recognize significant contributions of Carolina community members toward advancing an inclusive climate for excellence in teaching, research, public service and academic endeavor.

This year’s winners included: undergraduates David Choi and Kristen Marion; graduate students Meli Kimathi and Deanna Sipes; alumni Joshua Rowsey and Kenneth Gaines Smith; faculty members Peggye Dilworth-Anderson and William Sturkey; and staff members Dawna Jones and Kate Kryder.  The Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute RACE (Race, Ethnicity & Culture) Committee and Seeding Postdoctoral Innovators in Research & Education also received awards for intergroup collaboration.