The University is currently operating under normal conditions


David Boliek Jr. elected as chair of Carolina’s Board of Trustees, new members sworn in

Six board members were sworn in to begin their four-year terms.

Six new members of the UNC Board of Trustees are sworn in.
Six new members of the UNC Board of Trustees are sworn in by Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of North Carolina, Paul Newby, July 14, 2021 at the Carolina Inn. Chapel Hill, NC. New members are: Ramsey White, Vinay Patel, Malcolm Turner, Marty Kotis, Rob Bryan and Perrin Jones. (Jon Gardiner/UNC-Chapel Hill)

The University’s Board of Trustees elected David Boliek Jr. of Fayetteville to serve as chair of the board at its July 14 meeting. Earlier that day, six other board members were sworn in to begin their roles as trustees. The 13-member board is responsible for promoting the University’s development in its service to the state, aiding the institution in performing at a high level, and advising both the UNC System Board of Governors and Carolina’s chancellor in the management and development of the University.

Effective July 1, the following six trustees were sworn in to begin their four-year terms:

  • Robert “Rob” Bryan III of Charlotte
  • Dr. Perrin Jones of Greenville
  • Marty Kotis of Greensboro
  • Vinay Patel of Charlotte
  • Malcolm Turner of Boston
  • Ramsey White of Washington, D.C.

Additionally, UNC-Chapel Hill student Lamar Richards of Columbia, South Carolina, was sworn in May 20 and fills the ex officio seat held by Carolina’s student body president.

North Carolina Speaker of the House Tim Moore nominated Patel to serve on the Board. Senate President Pro Tempore Phil Berger nominated Kotis. The North Carolina General Assembly elected Patel and Kotis to the Board. The University of North Carolina System Board of Governors elected Bryan III, Jones, Turner and White to serve on the Board of Trustees.

“I want to thank the members of the board, the chancellor and the University community for the opportunity to serve,” said Boliek. “Every member on the board serves out of their sense of duty and love for this place. I commit to the University community, faculty, staff, citizens and taxpayers of North Carolina that we will do our best to lead the flagship University of this state to greater heights than it has already achieved.”

Under Boliek’s leadership, the Board of Trustees will continue building upon Carolina’s work as a leading global, public research institution and bolster the University’s comprehensive fundraising campaign, The Campaign for Carolina.

Meet the new trustees at TheWell.UNC.edu