Two dozen earn 2019 University Teaching Awards

Each year, the University recognizes faculty, staff and students for outstanding teaching.

The Old Well at Dusk.
Winter scene of the Old Well on the campus of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. January 8, 2019 (Jon Gardiner/UNC-Chapel Hill)

Twenty-four faculty members and teaching assistants have been named winners of Carolina’s 2019 University Teaching Awards. The recipients will be recognized during halftime of the men’s basketball game against Syracuse on Feb. 26. The awards banquet will be held April 8.

The University Committee on Teaching Awards, which oversees the selection process, encouraged students to nominate deserving faculty and graduate teaching assistants for the awards. The committee specifically sought nominations with specific examples that display the nominees’ care for students, mentorship or effective use of classroom methods.

“These award-winning scholars exemplify the dedication of Carolina faculty members,” said Provost Bob Blouin. “Their work in the classroom and through their research demonstrates dedication and determination to uphold Carolina’s mission of inspiring the next generation of leaders and guiding them to learn and grow.”

The list of winners follows:

Board of Governors’ Award for Excellence in Teaching, Nominee

  • Donald Hornstein, School of Law

Distinguished Teaching Awards for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction

  • Maria De Guzman, English and comparative literature department
  • Donna Gilleskie, economics department
  • Bernard Herman, American studies department
  • Ram Neta, philosophy department

Tanner Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

  • Spencer Barnes, School of Media and Journalism
  • Rhonda Lanning, School of Nursing
  • Marsha Penner, psychology and neuroscience department
  • Matt Redinbo, chemistry department

Carlyle Sitterson Award for Teaching First-Year Students

  • Alexander Miller, chemistry department
  • Diego Riveros-Iregui, geography department

Mentor Award for Lifetime Achievement

  • Channing Der, pharmacology department

William C. Friday/Class of 1986 Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Beth Kurtz-Costes, psychology and neuroscience department

Johnston Teaching Excellence Awards

  • Inger Brodey, English and comparative literature department
  • Matthew Springer, School of Education

Chapman Family Teaching Awards

  • Radislav Lapushin, Germanic and Slavic languages and literature department
  • Gidi Shemer, biology department
  • Michelle Sheran-Andrews, economics department
  • Sarah Ann Treul, political science department

Tanner Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching by Graduate Teaching Assistants

  • Phillip Bold, philosophy department
  • Megan Ford, chemistry department
  • Ani Govjian, English and comparative literature department
  • Holly Shablack, psychology and neuroscience department
  • Aisling Winston, economics department

Find more about the University Teaching Awards, including details on eligibility requirements, funding and winner compensation for each award, at https://provost.unc.edu/posts/2018/07/30/university-teaching-awards/