Around Campus

Information for students about voting

With early voting sites officially open in North Carolina and Election Day just a few weeks away, learn everything you need to know about voting in the 2022 election.

(Jon Gardiner/UNC-Chapel Hill)

Early voting for the 2022 midterm election is going on now through Nov. 5. If you are not registered to vote, or need to update your registration, same-day registration is available during early voting.

You can only vote early in your county of residence. If you are registered to vote in Orange County or are eligible to use same-day registration at an Orange County early voting site, the closest early voting location to campus is Chapel of the Cross, 304 E. Franklin St. (next to Morehead Planetarium and Science Center).

To register to vote during the early voting period, be sure to bring proof of residency, showing your name and current address. If you live in a residence hall on-campus, including in the Granville Towers complex, Orange County election officials have a roster, so you may show your One Card as proof of residency.

Chapel of the Cross, as well as Carrboro Town Hall Complex (108 Bim Street, right behind Carrboro Town Hall), Chapel Hill Public Library and Seymour Senior Center are open the following days and times:

Oct. 24–28: 8 a.m.–7:30 p.m.
Oct. 29: 8 a.m.–3 p.m.
Oct. 30: 12–4 p.m.
Oct. 31–Nov. 4: 8 a.m.–7:30 p.m.
Nov. 5: 8 a.m.–3 p.m.

Please check the Orange County Board of Elections website or your home county’s Board of Elections website, for more information about early voting locations and hours. During early voting, you may vote at any early voting location in your county of residence.

If you are already registered to vote, you can vote on Election Day, Nov. 8. The polls will be open 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. You can check your registration, find your polling place and download a sample ballot at the North Carolina State Board of Elections website. There is no same-day registration available on Election Day. The deadline to register to vote on Election Day itself has passed.