Men’s cross-country claims 10th ACC title

Parker Wolfe’s individual title, the first by a Tar Heel since 1997, powered the Tar Heels.

Cross country runner, Parker Wolfe, runs ahead of competition close behind him with a name tag reading
Parker Wolfe is Carolina's 15th individual ACC men’s cross-country champion. (Jeffrey A. Camarati/GoHeels)

Carolina’s men’s cross-country team won its first Atlantic Coast Conference Championship since 1985 on Friday at Apalachee Regional Park in Tallahassee, Florida, led by a foursome of top-10 finishers.

The Tar Heels (49) finished 16 points ahead of second-place Syracuse (65).

Junior Parker Wolfe won the men’s individual title, becoming the first Tar Heel since 1997 to win the race. He finished with a time of 23:03.01, more than five seconds in front of runner-up Paul O’Donnell of Syracuse.

Graduate transfer Alex Phillip came in fourth place with a time of 23:14.2, junior Ethan Strand finished sixth in 23:20.4 and Indiana transfer Jake Gebhardt placed ninth with a time of 23:26.6.

Wolfe became the 15th individual ACC men’s cross-country champion in school history, and the Tar Heels claimed their 10th overall men’s title.