Public Service Awards go to 7 people, 2 groups

The Carolina Center for Public Service honored work on health disparities, refugee aid and more.

Interim Chancellor Roberts standing at the top right alongside a row of Public Service award winners.
(Jon Gardiner/UNC-Chapel Hill)

At the 25th Public Service Awards ceremony, the Carolina Center for Public Service honored seven individuals and two groups for their outstanding contributions to the campus and broader communities.

The center, along with Interim Chancellor Lee H. Roberts and Provost Chris Clemens, presented the following awards April 5 at the Carolina Club:

Ned Brooks Award for Public Service: Dr. Lisa Carey, L. Richardson and Marilyn Jacobs Preyer Distinguished Professor for Breast Cancer Research and deputy director of clinical sciences, Lineberger Comprehensive Care Center. Carey received the award for her clinical and translational research and work in eradicating health disparities.

Robert E. Bryan Public Service Awards:

  • (Undergraduate student) Lydia Rowen, a Robertson scholar majoring in environmental science in the College of Arts and Sciences. The award recognized Rowen’s environmental work and leadership in the ReCYCLEry, a nonprofit community bicycle shop serving the Chapel Hill-Carrboro Community.
  • (Graduate student) Margarett McBride, a doctoral student in the College of Arts and Sciences’ psychology and neuroscience department. She received the award for her community engagement and contributions at Cities United, as well as her leadership in Diversity Student Success, Institute of Minority Excellence and the Black Graduate and Professional Student Association.
  • (Staff) Roy Zwahlen, associate dean for strategic partnerships and risk management, UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy; chief strategy officer, Eshelman Innovation. He led in remodeling Eshelman Innovation and awakening its potential and in directing innovations towards the most impactful science for patients in need.
  • (Faculty) Dr. Evan Ashkin, professor of family medicine, UNC School of Medicine. He works to improve the health of incarcerated individuals, a historically marginalized group.
  • (Student organization) The Middle East Refugee Aid Organization provides equitable access to medical and dental aid for Middle Eastern refugees, both locally and abroad, while promoting sustainable solutions through health literacy and education all while upholding fundamental human rights.

Office of the Provost Engaged Scholarship Awards:

  • (Teaching) Kristin Papoi, clinical associate professor, School of Education. She works with Diverse and Resilient Educators Advised through Mentorship and continues to cultivate mutually beneficial relationships between the School of Education and the larger community.
  • (Research): Antwain Hunter, assistant professor, College of Arts and Sciences’ history department. He is committed to outreach and engagement in classrooms and educational spaces beyond the University and champions diversity in these spaces.
  • (Partnership) UNC Cares promotes the rights and well-being of older adults and individuals with disabilities across North Carolina.