Men’s golf claims first ACC title since 2006

The Tar Heels defeated Florida State in Charlotte to earn their 12th conference championship.

Members of the Carolina men's golf team posing for a group photo after winning the ACC championship while holding a trophy and a banner that reads
(Jeffrey A. Camarati/GoHeels)

Senior Peter Fountain sank a par putt on the 17th hole to win his match Monday and give Carolina its first Atlantic Coast Conference men’s golf title since 2006.

Fountain, Austin Greaser and David Ford all won their respective matches 2&1 to lead the Tar Heels to a 3-1 win over Florida State at the Charlotte Country Club.

Earlier Monday, the Tar Heels defeated Wake Forest, 3-2, and the Seminoles blanked Georgia Tech, 3-0, in the semifinals.

All five Tar Heels in the lineup won points with Greaser winning points in both matches. Maxwell Ford and Dylan Menante won their matches against the Demon Deacons, and David Ford and Fountain put points on the board in the afternoon versus the Seminoles.

The title is the first for seventh-year head coach Andrew DiBitetto and the seventh tournament win this season for Carolina, which matches the school record set in 1982-83.

“I was just really happy for the guys,” DiBitetto said. “They’re amazing young people and they just they put so much into it. That’s the stuff people don’t see. They put so much into being great.”

This is Carolina’s 12th ACC men’s golf championship. The Tar Heels previously won in 1956, 1960, 1965, 1977, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1995, 1996 and 2006.

ACC Championship Match

Carolina 3, Florida State 1

Cole Anderson (FSU) def. Dylan Menante, 5&3
Austin Greaser (Carolina) def. Gray Albright, 2&1
David Ford (Carolina) def. Luke Clanton, 2&1
Maxwell Ford (Carolina) vs. Frederik Kjettrup, unfinished (were tied on the 18th hole when the match was clinched)
Peter Fountain (Carolina) def. Brett Roberts, 2&1